Is Wisconsin still a presidential battleground?


Of the nine truly contested states in the 2012 presidential race – where both sides spent heavily on television and turn-out – Wisconsin was decided by the largest margin (6.8 points).

Of these same nine states (the others are Ohio, Iowa, Florida, Virginia, Colorado, New Hampshire, Nevada and North Carolina), it was also decided by the largest margin four years ago (13.9 points).

Wisconsin is the only state among these nine that has voted Democratic in each of the past seven presidential elections.

Only two Republicans, Richard Nixon and Ronald Reagan, have won Wisconsin in the past 52 years. (Nixon won in 1960, 1968 and 1972, and Reagan won in 1980 and 1984).

The average Republican presidential vote in the past seven elections in Wisconsin is 44%. The average Democratic vote in those seven elections is 50% (third-party candidates account for the difference).

Via Gilbert @ Milwaukee Journal Sentinel.

Comments are closed.